Research

The Simulation of Pathogenic Protein False Folding Dynamics and the Calculation of its Experimental Spectrum:

The mechanism of protein folding is a biology problem that has aroused extensive concern. It is very significant to thoroughly understand protein folding dynamics and establish a predictive protein folding framework model in the biopharmaceutics field, especially in the aspect of folding-related diseases. Such a model framework can help learn about the pathogenic mechanism of protein false folding diseases, such as cystic fibrosis, Alzheimer, Huntington disease and type II diabetes. And this is very important for preventing false folding and protein aggregation.

Though after many years' theory and experiment research, we still can not achieve a clear understanding of its folding mechanism. One of the major reasons comes from the gulf between experiment and theoretical methods. The major reasons that lead to the gulf are the following two ones. Firstly, there is a scale difference between the folding time(longer than several microseconds) of the usual protein system and the time(a hundred nanoseconds) that computational simulation methods can reach. Recently there appears some inspiring development in computational simulation, including calculation with graphics processor, and the design of software and hardware specially used for molecule dynamic simulation, etc. However, in spite of these developments, it still remains a hard job to obtain a good statistical result of microsecond above dynamics with computational simulation. Secondly, even though the excellent statistical sampling can be obtained, it is very difficult to compare the result of computational simulation with that of experiments directly. In order to establish a relationship between the results of theory and experiments and achieve a deep understanding of protein folding mechanism, a theoretical method that can simulate long-time scale dynamics and calculate relevant time resolution spectrum signal needs to be developed.

The methods that employs laser pulse to trigger folding process is widely used in the protein folding research. In these methods, the most commonly used one is T-jump technology. T-jump uses a bunch of powerful laser to cause the immediate temperature rise, so the system is put in an unstable state on the free energy level, and we can trace the relaxation and the unfolding process of the system with the spectrum technology such as infrared and fluorescence.

We have developed a methodology that combines the simulation of molecule dynamics theory and theoretical spectrum to study the mechanism of typical protein structure fast folding process and its experiment characterization microscopic dynamics. This is a set of theoretical framework that combines statistical mechanics simulation, density functional theory, exciton model and Green function theory. Markovian State Model (MSM) is used to simulate the process that T-jump triggers long-time(longer than microsecond) protein folding, and Nonlinear Exciton Propagation(NEP) is employed to calculate the transmutation of optical line shape in the protein folding process.

Energy Transfer in Natural Solar Energy Collector and the Regulation Function of Protein Environment on it:

Photosynthesis provides chemical energy for almost all the living things on the earth. It is critical to study deep into the mechanism of photosynthesis in nature in the situation of global warming and fossil energy depletion, and it is closely related to biometric electro-optical device. Photosynthesis system is a naturally evolutionary and excellent biological electrical device. Photosynthesis tissue unit contains a set of complex pigment-protein complex (PPC). The distribution in space and energy level are in order, and the light conversion efficiency can reach more than 95%, so every absorbed photon will lead to the reduction of one CO2 molecule. The energy of absorbed photon is transferred through excitation, and is collected in the pigment in reaction center, which provides energy for the following series of charge transfer and Redox reaction in the reaction center. In recent years, with the development of various spectrum, other microscopic probing technology and theoretical methods of complex system microscopic dynamics, the molecule-level photosynthesis is actively studied. The analysis of experiments reveals that the traditional quantum dissipation theory which is based on perturbation and Markovian approximation, such as Förster velocity theory and Redfield equation, etc., is not applicable to the excitation energy process in photosynthesis system. In order to compete with excited state quench, fast excited state energy transfer is usually needed. However, due to a lack of suitable experiment and theory instrument to clearly reveal the dynamic phenomenon of coupling among each part in PPC, it is still difficult for people to explain this effective transport mechanism on molecule level.

Our research focuses on developing rigious and non-perturbative quantum theory of dissipative dynamics, as the basis to study excitation energy transfer of complex molecular systems, and carrying out calculation and simulation of linear and nonlinear spectra. Through practical and effective quantum dissipative dynamics, computational chemistry to determine the molecular aggregates with the excited state energy distribution (energy landscape) and the dissipative structure of the associated spectral density. Studying the photosynthetic system excitation energy transfer efficiency of the mechanism by spectral simulation of various experiments. The research can be summarized in the following two aspects:(1)relationship between non-Markovian quantum effect and excitation energy transfer mechanism; (2) the spatial distribution of PPC in photosynthetic system, and the role of interaction between each molecule in the excitation transfer.

致病蛋白质误折叠动力学的计算机模拟及其实验光谱的计算:

蛋白质折叠机理是一个受到广泛关注的生物学问题。深刻理解蛋白质折叠的动力学,建立一个具有预言性的蛋白质折叠框架模型,在生物医药学领域,特别是与折叠相关疾病方面,具有重要意义。这样一个模型框架将能够帮助理解囊肿性纤维化(cystic fibrosis),老年痴呆症(Alzheimer),汉廷顿舞蹈症(Huntington disease)和内分泌代谢II 型糖尿病(type II diabetes)等蛋白质误折叠疾病的致病机理。对于预防误折叠和蛋白质聚集,十分关键。

虽然经过了多年的理论和实验研究,即使对于常用的单一结构域小蛋白质系统,我们也仍然无法获得一个对于其折叠机理的清晰认识。这其中的一个主要原因来自于实验与理论方法之间的鸿沟。造成这一鸿沟的主要有两个原因。首先,实验常用的蛋白质体系的折叠时间(数微秒以上)与计算机模拟方法所能达到的时间(百纳秒)之间存在一个时间尺度上的差异。近期在计算机模拟方面,出现了一些鼓舞人心的进展,包括运用图形处理器进行计算,以及设计专门用于分子动力学模拟的软硬件等等。但即使有了这些新的进展,想要运用获得计算机模拟获得微秒以上动力学的良好统计结果仍然不是一个容易的工作。其次,即使能够获得很好的统计采样。想要将计算机模拟的结果直接与实验对比仍然相当困难。为了将理论与实验的结果直接联系起来,获取对蛋白质折叠机理的更深认识,一个能够模拟长时间尺度动力学并基于模拟结果计算相关时间分辨光谱信号的理论方法需要被发展出来。

运用激光脉冲来触发折叠过程的方法近年来被广泛运用于蛋白质折叠研究中,在这一类方法中,最通用的是一种被称为T-jump(瞬间升温)的技术,T-jump运用一束强激光来造成溶液体系的瞬间升温,系统于是被置于自由能面上的不稳定态,我们于是可以运用红外,荧光等光谱技术来追踪系统的弛豫,去折叠过程。

我们已经发展出一套紧密结合分子动力学理论模拟与理论光谱学的方法来研究典型蛋白质结构快速折叠过程及其实验表征的微观动力学机理。这是一套结合统计力学模拟,密度泛函,激子模型和格林函数理论的理论框架。马尔可夫态模型(Markovian State Model, MSM)方法被用来对T-jump触发蛋白质折叠长时间(微秒以上)的过程进行模拟。非线性激子演进数值方法(Nonlinear Exciton Propagation, NEP)被用来计算蛋白质折叠过程中光谱线形的演变。

天然太阳能收集器中的能量传递以及蛋白质环境对其的调控作用:

光合作用为地球上几乎所有的生命提供化学能量。深入研究自然界光合反应的机制在气候暖化以及化石能源枯竭的今天尤其重要,与仿生光电器件的发展密切相关。光合系统是一个自然进化的、美妙的生物电子器件。光合组织单元含有一套复杂的色素-蛋白质集合体(pigment-protein complex, PPC),空间上与能级上分布有序,光转化效率可达95%以上,几乎每一个被吸收的光子都导致一个CO2 分子的还原。吸收的光子能量通过激发能传递,汇集到位于反应中心的色素体分子,为反应中心随后的一系列电荷转移和氧化还原化学反应提供能量。近年来,随着各种光谱和其他微观探测技术以及复杂体系微观动力学理论方法的发展,分子层面的光合过程研究非常活跃。对实验的分析发现传统的、基于微扰和马尔可夫近似的量子耗散理论框架,如Förster 速率理论和Redfield 方程等,不适用于光合系统中激发能传递过程。为了与激发态淬灭竞争,通常需要快速的激发态能量传递。然而,由于缺乏适当的实验和理论工具来清晰揭示PPC 中各部分相互耦合的动力学现象,人们仍然难以在分子层面上解释这一高效输运的机理。

我们的研究兴趣集中于发展严格、非微扰量子耗散动力学理论,为研究复杂分子体系激发能传递提供了理论基础, 并开展相关的线性和非线性光谱的模拟计算。通过进一步发展实用、有效的量子耗散动力学方法,结合计算化学确定分子集合体的激发态能量布局(energy landscape)以及耗散关联的谱密度结构,模拟各种实验光谱,研究光合系统中激发能传递效率的机制。拟研究的内容可以归纳为如下两个基本问题:(1)非马尔可夫量子效应与激发能传递机理的关系;(2)光合系统中PPC 的空间分布,以及各分子之间的各种相互作用在激发能传递中扮演的角色。